Eric Contractor at the Path Cafe

If you’re one of those people that like to get away and sit in a peaceful environment or go study for an exam at a cafe/coffee shop instead of your local library or your own room, then the Path cafe on Christopher Street in NYC  is a nice place to visit.  Talented musicians play every hour at the cafe.  As you walk by you can hear the piano, acoustic guitar, vocals, the cello and more being played from the cafe with its fully opened doors for everyone on the block to hear.

I went to the Path Cafe last night  (right next to the Christopher Street Path station .. figures why it’s called Path Cafe) to see Eric Contractor play an acoustic/piano set. Ironically, Eric is from the same area of me here in Jersey but we met through the internet instead – crazy how those things work.

His music sounds like something you would hear on a coffee shop radio station – sorta like Jack Johnson. Simply put, his music is soothing acoustic rock.

Contractor’s inspirations go way back to the sixties; hearing music from The Mamas and the Papas, Motown and The Beatles, Aretha Franklin, Nina Simone when he was younger to Bruce Springsteen, Radiohead, and Fleet Foxes.

Towards the end of his performance, Contractor played a song called “If I Had Her.” It reminded me of something I would hear in a romantic comedy, or as Robyn said it – a “rom com.”

When asked where his favorite place to play is at he said, “Well, I have had many great experiences playing all over the city in various venues. Two two stick out to me though; The Waltz-Astoria in Queens has been a great place for me to play shows and work on material at their open mics. Caffe Vivaldi in the West Village is also a wonderful place for singer-songwriters to play in New York. ”

He is super excited about his future, hoping to pursue songwriting and singing as a career. Contractor said, ” I am also constantly writing new songs, and am always trying to add more excitement to my shows to give a sense of a journey and an experience. I hope to play all over so that my music and its audience can find one another. I would also like to play with more musicians, and eventually collaborate with some artists who can develop a visual stage production! With my lyrics, singing, my stories, and my somewhat theatrical imaginings, I want to put on a shows where I can feel an intensely powerful interplay of energy and emotion between myself and the audience. Electricity!”

All in all, his music sounds like something you would hear on at a coffee shop.. or a coffee shop radio station.. or  in a romantic comedy..or a rom com. I thoroughly enjoyed his set.

MARK YOUR CALENDARS! Eric Contractor’s next show is on September 1 at Caffe Vivaldi.

To hear his music you can take a listen here: Night Escape/Eric Contractor.

Check out his website here.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

